INFORMATION FOR TOBACCO RETAILERS IN THE CITY OF LOS ANGELES
TEP assists retailers in complying with state and local laws. Remember, if you sell tobacco products in the City of Los Angeles, you MUST have a valid City of Los Angeles Tobacco Retailer’s Permit, which you can apply for with the Office of Finance; it is described in detail in the LA Municipal Code. It is a misdemeanor to sell tobacco products without a Tobacco Permit, punishable by up to six months in jail and/or a $1,000 fine. The City of Los Angeles will suspend your Tobacco Permit if you sell tobacco to a minor, allow indoor smoking in an enclosed workplace or are convicted of violating any law involving tobacco retailing.
• First violation: 30-day Tobacco Permit suspension
• Second violation: 90-day Tobacco Permit suspension
• Third violation: 120-day Tobacco Permit suspension
• Fourth violation: Tobacco Permit revocation
To avoid a Tobacco Permit suspension, it is imperative that you and your employees follow the law.
ADDITIONAL INFORMATION AND RESOURCES
The City of LA requires that tobacco retailers have a permit to sell tobacco and tobacco products. Contact the Office of Finance to get yours.
The State of California also requires that tobacco retailers have a Cigarette and Tobacco Products Retailer License. You can get yours from the California Department of Tax and Fee Administration.
Important information for Tobacco Retailers
Tobacco 21 is the Law. Retailers are required to post this sticker.
Special information for ABC license holders.
Information for hookah-related businesses.